SWIFT Audit

We support you in your SWIFT mandated Assessment

It is hard to imagine international payments without SWIFT. The Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIFT) is a global member cooperative that provides secure financial messaging services for its community of 11,000 banks and financial institutions. To this end, it provides the technical infrastructure and standardized message formats for message transfer.

What are the requirements for SWIFT members?

Under the Customer Security Controls Framework (CSCF), SWIFT members are required to provide SWIFT with annual evidence of compliance with all mandatory controls. Until now, banks and financial institutions have been able to provide this proof through a “user initiated assessment” in the form of a self-assessment.

For quality assurance reasons, however, an important change was made in 2020 with regard to this proof of compliance: According to the Independent Assessment Framework (IAF), all members must provide proof in the future through an independent audit . This can be performed by external auditors as well as by internally independent persons with appropriate expertise (e.g. internal audit).

icon symbol orange 007 2

Did you know?

Keep track of your compliance obligations: You must demonstrate compliance with all Mandatory Controls to SWIFT on an annual basis.

How we support you with your SWIFT audit

Our auditors combine many years of auditing experience in the payment industry with extensive know-how in regulatory projects in the financial sector. We are therefore ideally placed to support you in your SWIFT assessment as an external and independent auditor.
Our goal is always to efficiently provide the necessary evidence for the implementation of all required requirements.

How do we perform your SWIFT audit?

In order to achieve the SWIFT requirements in a resource-saving way, we recommend the following project structure:

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 09

Phase 1

Project planning

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 02 1

Phase 5

Audit planning

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 05 1

Phase 2

Kick-off workshop / definition of scope

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 12

Phase 6

Performance of on site/off site audit

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 03 1

Phase 3

Gap analysis, type of results: list of findings

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 06 1

Phase 7

Remediation/findings

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 11

Phase 4

Remediation support

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 01 1

Phase 8

Final report

Our tips for preparing effectively for your SWIFT audit:

1. Clarify the desired type of audit in good time – by an external auditor or by an internal audit.

2. If you opt for an external audit, look for a suitable partner promptly and involve them in the preparation early on.

3. Prepare yourself sufficiently for the audit. In the case of an independent audit, whether by an internal or an external auditor, stricter requirements are usually placed on processes and documentation than in the case of self-certification. A gap analysis or a short workshop to compare the implemented processes and the CSCP controls can be a good preparation.

Learn more about the SWIFT CSP

SWIFT Customer Security Programme

In response to the cyber attack on Bangladesh Bank in 2016, SWIFT developed the Customer Security Programme (CSP). The requirements enshrined therein are generally intended to strengthen the security of the global banking system and actively support clients in the fight against cyber attacks. In addition, the CSP aims to improve information sharing within the community and strengthen endpoint security.

SWIFT Customer Security Controls Framework

Derived from these security requirements, SWIFT developed a set of control guidelines that all entities connected to the network must comply with: the Customer Security Controls Framework (CSCF).

The CSCF consists of mandatory and advisory controls. The ever-increasing requirements for security in the financial environment mean that the CSCF is constantly being adapted to current circumstances. The CSCF now comprises 22 mandatory and nine advisory controls that must be demonstrated by the clients.

Contact

 

Please contact us with any questions or queries.

Phone: +49 6102 8631-190
Email: sales@usd.de
PGP Key
S/MIME
Contact Form

 

Kontakt usd Sales

Anna-Magdalena Kohl
usd Team Lead Sales,
PCI Professional

SWIFT Audit

Wir unterstützen Sie beim SWIFT mandated Assessment

SWIFT ist aus dem internationalen Zahlungsverkehr nicht mehr wegzudenken. Die Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIFT) ist eine globale Mitgliedergenossenschaft, die sichere Finanznachrichtendienste für ihre Gemeinschaft von 11.000 Banken und Finanzinstituten anbietet. Dazu stellt sie die technische Infrastruktur sowie standardisierte Nachrichtenformate für den Nachrichtentransfer zur Verfügung.

Welche Anforderungen werden an SWIFT-Mitglieder gestellt?

SWIFT-Mitglieder sind nach dem Customer Security Controls Framework (CSCF) dazu verpflichtet, jährlich das Einhalten aller Mandatory Controls gegenüber der SWIFT nachzuweisen. Diesen Nachweis konnten Banken und Finanzinstitute bisher durch ein „User initiated assessment“ in Form eines Self-Assessments erbringen.

Aus Gründen der Qualitätssicherung wurde allerdings 2020 eine wichtige Änderung hinsichtlich dieses Compliance-Nachweises vorgenommen: Laut dem Independent Assessment Framework (IAF) müssen alle Mitglieder den Nachweis zukünftig durch ein unabhängiges Audit erbringen. Dies kann sowohl von externen Auditoren als auch von intern unabhängigen Personen mit entsprechender Expertise (z.B. Interner Revision) durchgeführt werden.

icon symbol orange 007 2

Wussten Sie schon?

Behalten Sie Ihre Nachweispflicht im Blick: Sie müssen jährlich das Einhalten aller Mandatory Controls gegenüber der SWIFT nachweisen.

So unterstützen wir Sie beim SWIFT Audit

Unsere Auditoren vereint die langjährige Auditerfahrung in der Payment Industry mit umfangreichem Know-How in Regulatorik-Projekten im Finanzwesen. Damit bringen wir die besten Voraussetzungen mit, Sie bei Ihrem SWIFT-Assessment als externer und unabhängiger Prüfer zu unterstützen.
Unser Ziel ist es dabei immer, auf effiziente Weise den erforderlichen Nachweis zur Umsetzung aller benötigten Anforderungen zu liefern.

Wie gehen wir beim SWIFT-Audit vor?

Um die SWIFT-Vorgaben ressourcenschonend zu erreichen, empfehlen wie die nachfolgende Projektstruktur:

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 09

Phase 1

Projektplanung

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 02 1

Phase 5

Planung des Audits

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 05 1

Phase 2

Durchführung eines Kick-off Workshops / Klärung des Scopes

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 12

Phase 6

Durchführung des Onsite-Offsite Audits

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 03 1

Phase 3

Durchführung einer Gap-Analyse, Ergebnistyp: Findings-Liste

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 06 1

Phase 7

Remediation/Findings

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 11

Phase 4

Remediation Support

Icons Wie gehen wir vor 01 1

Phase 8

Erstellen des Abschlussreports

Unsere Tipps für eine gute Vorbereitung auf Ihr SWIFT Audit:

1. Klären Sie rechtzeitig die gewünschte Art des Audits – durch einen externen Auditor oder durch die Interne Revision

2. Wenn die Wahl auf einen externen Auditor gefallen ist, sehen Sie sich zeitnah nach einem geeigneten Partner um und binden Sie diesen frühzeitig in die Vorbereitung mit ein.

3. Bereiten Sie sich ausreichend auf das Audit vor. Bei einem unabhängigen Audit, egal ob durch eine Revision oder einen externen Auditor, werden meist strengere Anforderungen an Prozesse und Dokumentationen gelegt als bei einer Selbstzertifizierung. Eine Gap-Analyse oder ein kurzer Workshop zum Vergleich der implementierten Prozesse und der CSCP-Controls kann eine gute Vorbreitung sein.

Erfahren Sie mehr zum SWIFT CSP

SWIFT Customer Security Programme

Als Reaktion auf den Cyberangriff auf die Bangladesh Bank im Jahr 2016 entwickelte SWIFT das Customer Security Programme (CSP). Die dort verankerten Anforderungen sollen im Allgemeinen die Sicherheit des globalen Bankensystems stärken und Kunden aktiv im Kampf gegen Cyber-Attacken unterstützen. Darüber hinaus zielt der CSP darauf, den Informationsaustausch innerhalb der Community zu verbessern und die Endpoint Security zu stärken.

SWIFT Customer Security Controls Framework

Abgeleitet von diesen Sicherheitsanforderungen entwickelte SWIFT eine Reihe an Kontrollrichtlinien, die alle dem Netzwerk angeschlossenen Unternehmen erfüllen müssen: das Customer Security Controls Framework (CSCF).

Das CSCF besteht aus verpflichtenden („Mandatory“) und empfohlenen („Advisory“) Controls. Die stetig steigenden Anforderungen an Sicherheit im Finanzumfeld haben zur Folge, dass das CSCF fortlaufend den aktuellen Gegebenheiten angepasst wird. Inzwischen umfasst das CSCF 22 Mandatory und neun Advisory Controls, die von den Kunden nachgewiesen werden müssen.

Kontakt

 

Sie haben Fragen oder Interesse? Sprechen Sie uns gerne an.

Telefon: ­ +49 6102 8631-190
E-Mail: vertrieb@usd.de
PGP Key
S/MIME
Kontaktformular

 

Anna-Magdalena Kohl
usd Team Lead Sales,
PCI Professional