Break Down Prejudices, Empower Women. We Participate in Girls'Day 2024

22. April 2024

Approximately a quarter of our usd Heroes are female. Even though that is above the average for our industry, we are convinced that there is still room for improvement. That is why we are taking part in Girls'Day again this year. On this day, girls can gain an insight into professions that are traditionally predominantly carried out by men.

Our colleague Julia Wingert from the Security Audits & PCI team has organized Girls'Day for the third time in a row, this year together with her team mate Lea Straumann, Dominique Dittert from usd HeroLab and Victoria Kunde from the Security Consulting team. We asked Julia what the participants can look forward to and what makes Girls' Days so special to her.

Julia Wingert

Julia, what can the participants expect this year?

JW: We want to introduce the girls to various IT security topics in an informal way. To this end, we have prepared individual workstations with interactive tasks and games, for example on cryptography, password security and social engineering. My colleague Dominique Dittert from usd HeroLab will also be conducting a live hack. We want to show the participants how easy it is to carry out phishing attacks via text message, for example, or what security risks are harbored by unknown WLAN hotspots.

What are you particularly looking forward to?

JW: I'm always really excited to get to learn about the girls' current level of knowledge. I notice that the technical affinity among the girls grows with each year and that they already know a lot about many topics, such as data protection. They know, for example, not to post certain information on social media or share their passwords. In general, young girls today are much more apt than we were at that age (laughs). Nevertheless, there is still a certain, noticeable reluctance when it comes to actually taking up a technical profession.

Why do you think that is?

JW: One of the reasons is certainly that girls still have certain prejudices about what kind of people "fit" into technical or scientific professions. We are happy to break down those prejudices - because we work with a wide variety of people with very different characteristics, interests and strengths. And none of us fit into any "box". Our aim is to offer girls realistic insights into our industry, with all its advantages and disadvantages - but without any prejudices. If we can inspire enthusiasm but also help them to make well-informed decisions, we are more than happy.

Also interesting:

PCI DSS v4.0.1: Are You Ready for the Future-dated Requirements? 

PCI DSS v4.0.1: Are You Ready for the Future-dated Requirements? 

With the publication of PCI DSS v4.0.1, at the latest, the requirements introduced with version 4.0 of the credit card data security standard are yesterday's news - or so one would think. After all, many PCI DSS v4.0 assessments have already been carried out in the...

Security Advisory on AXIS Webcam

Security Advisory on AXIS Webcam

The pentest professionals at usd HeroLab examined the AXIS Webcam (P1364) during their pentests. Our professionals discovered a vulnerability (cross-site request forgery) in the admin panel of AXIS P1364 Webcam. Exploiting this vulnerability enables an attacker to...

Categories

Categories

Weg mit Vorurteilen, her mit Frauenpower. Wir machen mit beim Girls’Day 2024

22. April 2024

Etwa ein Viertel unserer usd Heroes sind weiblich. Auch wenn wir damit über dem Durchschnitt unserer Branche liegen, finden wir: Da ist noch Luft nach oben. Deshalb beteiligen wir uns auch in diesem Jahr am Girls’Day. An diesem Aktionstag können Mädchen für einen Tag in Berufe hineinschnuppern, die traditionell überwiegend von Männern ausgeübt werden.

Unsere Kollegin Julia Wingert aus dem Team Security Audits & PCI betreut den Girls’Day bereits zum dritten Mal in Folge, dieses Jahr gemeinsam mit ihrer Teamkollegin Lea Straumann, Dominique Dittert aus dem usd HeroLab und Victoria Kunde aus dem Team Security Consulting. Wir haben Julia gefragt, worauf die Teilnehmerinnen sich freuen können, und was den Girls’Days für sie so besonders macht.

Julia Wingert

Julia, was wird die Teilnehmerinnen dieses Jahr erwarten?

JW: Wir möchten die Mädchen ganz ungezwungen und spielerisch an unterschiedliche IT-Sicherheitsthemen heranführen. Dazu haben wir einzelne Stationen mit interaktiven Aufgaben und Spielen vorbereitet, zum Beispiel zu Kryptographie, Passwortsicherheit und Social Engineering. Meine Kollegin Dominique Dittert wird außerdem einen Live Hack durchführen. Damit wollen wir den Teilnehmerinnen zeigen, wie leicht beispielsweise Phishing-Angriffe per SMS durchzuführen sind, oder welche Sicherheitsrisiken unbekannte WLAN-Hotspots bergen.

Worauf freust du dich besonders?

JW: Ich bin jedes Mal total gespannt auf den aktuellen Kenntnisstand der Teilnehmerinnen. Ich habe das Gefühl, dass die technische Affinität unter den Mädchen mit jedem Jahr wächst und sie bei vielen Themen, wie etwa dem Datenschutz, bereits einiges wissen. Zum Beispiel, dass sie bestimmte Informationen nicht bei Social Media posten und ihre Passwörter nicht teilen sollen. Auf jeden Fall sind die jungen Mädchen heute viel fitter, als wir es in dem Alter waren (lacht). Trotzdem gibt es auch nach wie vor eine gewisse, spürbare Zurückhaltung, wenn es darum geht, einen technischen Beruf zu ergreifen.

Was glaubst du, woran das liegt?

JW: Einer der Gründe ist sicherlich, dass die Mädchen noch immer gewisse Vorurteile darüber mitbringen, welche Menschen in technische oder naturwissenschaftliche Berufe „passen“. Mit diesen Vorurteilen räumen wir gern auf – denn bei uns arbeiten die unterschiedlichsten Menschen mit ganz verschiedenen Eigenschaften, Interessen und Stärken. Und keiner von uns passt in irgendeine „Schublade“. Unser Ziel ist es, den Teilnehmerinnen einen realistischen Einblick in unsere Branche zu bieten, mit allen Vor- und Nachteilen – aber eben ohne Vorurteile. Wenn wir damit Begeisterung wecken, aber auch bei einer gut informierten Entscheidungsfindung helfen können, sind wir mehr als zufrieden.

Auch interessant:

PCI DSS v4.0.1 veröffentlicht

PCI DSS v4.0.1 veröffentlicht

Als Reaktion auf Rückmeldungen und Fragen von Stakeholdern, die seit der Veröffentlichung von PCI DSS v4.0 im März 2022 bei ihm eingegangen sind, veröffentlichte das PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) am 11.06.2024 ein Update des PCI DSS: Version 4.0.1. In...

mehr lesen

Kategorien

Kategorien