Meet the Team: usd HeroLab

28. May 2021

The career opportunities in the IT security industry are diverse and the paths from study to later profession can be quite different. We therefore asked our colleagues about their activities, their career path and their passion for the profession.

Our excellently trained security analysts and pentesters work in the usd HeroLab, supported by our own development team for the toolchain and pentest service management. If anyone understands how attackers think and act, it is them. In the name of "more security", they identify vulnerabilities, name risks and recommend countermeasures. Whether pentests, security scans, code reviews or digital forensics - our colleagues are passionate about what they do.


Sebastian Düringer

Like many of his colleagues, Sebastian studied IT security at the Technical University of Darmstadt, which laid a good foundation for his career as a pentester. At usd HeroLab, he accompanies customers through the scanning process as the person responsible for security scans.

„At usd HeroLab, you learn a lot very quickly and you are given the opportunity to take on responsibility and contribute your own ideas at an early stage. In addition, the tasks remain varied because you have to constantly adapt to current developments in technical security analyses such as pentests or security scans and find new solutions accordingly. For me, that and my great team make my job.“



Lauritz Holtmann

During his studies at the Ruhr University in Bochum, Lauritz worked as a student trainee at usd HeroLab and was also very involved in IT security in his private life. At usd HeroLab, he is responsible for mobile security and responsible disclosure activities, among other things.

„At usd HeroLab, I have turned my hobby into my profession, so to speak. Through a combination of pentests and security scans, I examine, for example, apps that we all use every day for security vulnerabilities. In our Security Advisories, we warn about vulnerabilities in common software products. In this way, my team and I can help to better protect companies and private individuals against cybercriminals.“



Lisa Ruppert

After her apprenticeship as a bank clerk, Lisa decided to study Public Management at the University of Applied Sciences Darmstadt and worked as a student trainee at usd AG during that time. Since May, she has been working full-time at usd HeroLab and supports the Pentest Service Management (PSM).

„Over 50 security analysts and hundreds of analyses a month - organising that is quite an art. The preparation and follow-up have to be good, and above all the communication with the contacts on both sides has to be right. That's what I like about my job: coordinating complex projects and working closely with people.“



Andreas Hagemann

After studying business informatics at DHBW Mannheim, Andreas initially worked as an SAP consultant, but after a few years he noticed that he was becoming more and more interested in IT security topics privately. Today, he has focused on IT security and is a pentester at usd HeroLab. Here, through his experience in the SAP environment, he is responsible, among other things, for conducting SAP pentests.

„Someone once told me that as a pentester you need a certain „hunter's instinct" - I can only confirm that. We always put ourselves in the role of an attacker and play out a wide range of attack scenarios on our customers' IT environments. To protect our customers, it is always our goal to uncover vulnerabilities before someone can exploit them.“


Would you like to enter or switch to the IT security industry? Join our team!

If you want to learn even more about us and what we do, join us at our „Ask our IT Security Professionals" event on 17/06.

Also interesting:

PHOENIX group establishes Europe-wide ISMS with support from usd AG

PHOENIX group establishes Europe-wide ISMS with support from usd AG

Particularly in high-growth industries with increasing internationalisation, such as the pharmaceutical industry, corporations today face the challenge of setting up their information security governance in such a way that it meets the associated risks and challenges....

Security Scan and Pentest: What are the Differences?  

Security Scan and Pentest: What are the Differences?  

A proactive protection against hacker attacks is essential, especially for systems and applications that are accessible from the Internet. A penetration test, or pentest for short, and security scan are frequently requested IT security analyses in this context,...

Security Advisories for Jellyfin

Security Advisories for Jellyfin

The usd HeroLab analysts examined the multimedia application Jellyfin while conducting their security analyses. Two cross-site scripting vulnerabilities were identified that allowed a simple user account to take over higher-privileged accounts, such as an...

Categories

Categories

Meet the Team: usd HeroLab

28. Mai 2021

Die Karrieremöglichkeiten in der IT-Security-Branche sind vielfältig und die Wege vom Studium zum späteren Beruf können ganz unterschiedlich sein. Wir haben daher unsere Kolleg*innen nach ihren Tätigkeiten, ihrem Karriereweg und ihrer Leidenschaft für den Beruf befragt.

Im usd HeroLab arbeiten unsere exzellent ausgebildeten Security Analysten und Pentester, unterstützt durch ein eigenes Entwicklungsteam für die Toolchain sowie das Pentest Service Management. Wenn jemand versteht, wie Angreifer denken und handeln, dann sie. Im Namen von „more security“ identifizieren sie Schwachstellen, benennen Risiken und empfehlen Gegenmaßnahmen. Ob Pentests, Security Scans, Code Reviews oder digitale Forensik – unsere Kolleg*innen brennen für das, was sie tun.


meet the team sebastian.d

Sebastian Düringer

Wie viele seiner Kolleg*innen legte Sebastian durch ein Studium der IT-Security an der TU Darmstadt eine gute Basis für seine Karriere als Pentester. Im usd HeroLab begleitet er Kunden unter anderem als Leistungsverantwortlicher für Security Scans durch den Scanprozess.

„Im usd HeroLab lernt man sehr schnell sehr viel und es wird einem schon früh ermöglicht, Verantwortung zu übernehmen und eigene Ideen einzubringen. Außerdem bleiben die Aufgaben abwechslungsreich, weil man sich bei technischen Sicherheitsanalysen wie Pentests oder Security Scans ständig an aktuelle Entwicklungen anpassen und entsprechend neue Lösungen finden muss. Das und mein großartiges Team machen für mich meinen Job aus.“



meet the team lauritz.h

Lauritz Holtmann

Schon während seines Studiums an der Ruhr-Universität in Bochum war Lauritz als Werkstudent im usd HeroLab tätig und beschäftigte sich auch privat viel mit IT-Sicherheit. Im usd HeroLab ist er unter anderem für den Bereich Mobile Security und für die Responsible-Disclosure-Aktivitäten zuständig.

„Im usd HeroLab habe ich sozusagen mein Hobby zum Beruf gemacht. Durch eine Kombination aus Pentests und Security Scans untersuche ich zum Beispiel Apps, die wir alle täglich nutzen, auf Sicherheitslücken. In unseren Security Advisories warnen wir vor Schwachstellen in gängigen Softwareprodukten. So können mein Team und ich dabei helfen, Unternehmen und Privatpersonen besser gegen Cyberkriminelle zu schützen.“



meet the team lisa.r

Lisa Ruppert

Nach ihrer Ausbildung als Bankkauffrau hat sich Lisa für ein Public Management-Studium an der Hochschule Darmstadt entschieden und war währenddessen als Werkstudentin in der usd AG tätig. Seit Mai arbeitet sie in Vollzeit im usd HeroLab und unterstützt das Pentest Service Management (PSM).

„Über 50 Security Analysten und hunderte von Analysen im Monat – das zu organisieren ist schon eine Kunst. Dazu muss die Vor- und Nachbereitung gut sein, und vor allem die Kommunikation mit den Ansprechpartnern auf beiden Seiten stimmen. Ich mag an meinem Job genau das: komplexe Projekte koordinieren und eng mit Menschen zusammenarbeiten.“



meet the team andreas.h

Andreas Hagemann

Nach seinem Studium der Wirtschaftsinformatik an der DHBW Mannheim war Andreas zunächst als SAP Consultant tätig, merkte aber nach einigen Jahren, dass er sich privat immer mehr für die Themen der IT-Sicherheit interessierte. Heute hat er die IT-Sicherheit in den Fokus gestellt und ist Pentester im usd HeroLab. Hier ist er durch seine Erfahrungen im SAP-Umfeld unter anderem für die Durchführung von SAP-Pentests verantwortlich.

„Mir hat mal jemand gesagt, als Pentester braucht man einen gewissen „Jägerinstinkt“ – das kann ich nur so bestätigen. Wir versetzen uns immer neu in die Rolle eines Angreifers und spielen eine große Bandbreite an Angriffsszenarien auf die IT-Umgebungen unserer Kunden durch. Um unsere Kunden zu schützen, ist es immer unser Ziel, Schwachstellen aufzudecken, bevor sie jemand ausnutzen kann.“


Du möchtest in die IT-Security-Branche ein- oder umsteigen? Verstärke unser Team!

Wenn du noch mehr über uns und das, was wir machen, erfahren möchtest, nimm an unserer Veranstaltung „Ask our IT Security Professionals“ am 17.06. teil.

Auch interessant:

Kategorien

Kategorien