Next Level Reporting: Our New Test Report Ensures Transparent and Comprehensible Pentest Results

8. April 2022

A meaningful result is an essential part of a thorough security analysis. The majority of pentest result reports focus on the identified vulnerabilities. Here's the problem: The scope of the tested environment is not apparent from this and is not comprehensible for you. That's not sufficient for us.

Stephan Neumann Pentest

"It is important to us not only to perform qualitative analyses, but also to provide you with detailed documentation of the tests performed. With our test reports, we make our analyses transparent and demonstrate our quality standards. In 2021, we have taken our reporting to the next level."

Stephan Neumann
Head of usd HeroLab

We provide transparency for you in our test report

As demand for pentests increases, there are also an increasing number of providers competing, which makes it difficult for companies to evaluate differences in the quality of pentests ideally before a contract is signed. This is because the conducting of the actual pentest remains a black box from the client's point of view:

A final report merely documents which vulnerabilities were identified during the pentest. The report does not contain any information about whether and to what extent a function was tested. Our test report creates more transparency: It is an additional document that summarizes the scope as well as the result of the analysis. Here, we show which attack vectors were tested in connection with which functions and with what result - even if no vulnerability was identified there. This gives you greater transparency and allows you to evaluate the quality of our analysis.

Comprehensible pentest results

The best security analysis does not provide any benefit if the findings are not presented in a comprehensible and well-structured manner and not included concrete recommended measures. This is why we have fundamentally revised our pentest results reports and added a lot of useful information. By categorizing findings, for example, it is possible to identify fundamental issues. For example, many findings in "handling user data" within a web application indicate a lack of awareness of injection attacks among developers. Overall, we have revised the structure and presentation of the findings in our report and added internal references to improve legibility.

Reporting customized to your needs

The results of the technical analysis lead to extensive subsequent measures at your company:

  • The results have to be processed further within the company
  • Task have to be assigned to the right persons
  • Remediation measures must be implemented, tracked and documented

Many companies use their own systems for this, for example based on Jira. For this purpose, we can easily provide a tabular summary of the results in a suitable import format. If requested, we can also use the company's own templates for the documentation of pentest results.


Are you interested in a pentest or do you need support?

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Also interesting:

PCI DSS v4.0.1: Are You Ready for the Future-dated Requirements? 

PCI DSS v4.0.1: Are You Ready for the Future-dated Requirements? 

With the publication of PCI DSS v4.0.1, at the latest, the requirements introduced with version 4.0 of the credit card data security standard are yesterday's news - or so one would think. After all, many PCI DSS v4.0 assessments have already been carried out in the...

Security Advisory on AXIS Webcam

Security Advisory on AXIS Webcam

The pentest professionals at usd HeroLab examined the AXIS Webcam (P1364) during their pentests. Our professionals discovered a vulnerability (cross-site request forgery) in the admin panel of AXIS P1364 Webcam. Exploiting this vulnerability enables an attacker to...

Categories

Categories

Next Level Reporting: Unser neuer Prüfbericht macht Pentest-Ergebnisse transparent und nachvollziehbar

8. April 2022

Zu einer guten Security-Analyse gehört auch ein aussagekräftiges Ergebnis. Die Mehrzahl von Pentest-Ergebnisberichten konzentriert sich auf die identifizierten Schwachstellen. Das Problem dabei: Der Umfang der getesteten Umgebung ist daraus nicht ersichtlich und für Sie nicht nachvollziehbar. Das reicht uns nicht.

Stephan Neumann Pentest

“Uns ist es wichtig, nicht nur qualitative Analysen durchzuführen, sondern Ihnen eine detaillierte Dokumentation der durchgeführten Prüfungen zu bieten. Mit unseren Prüfberichten machen wir unsere Analysen transparent und demonstrieren unseren Qualitätsanspruch. Im Jahr 2021 haben wir unser Reporting auf das nächste Level gehoben.“

Stephan Neumann
Head of usd HeroLab

In unserem Prüfbericht schaffen wir für Sie Transparenz

Mit steigender Nachfrage nach Pentests gibt es auch immer mehr Anbieter auf diesem Markt, was es Unternehmen schwierig macht, Unterschiede in der Qualität von Pentests zu bewerten – und das idealerweise vor Vertragsabschluss. Grund dafür ist, dass die Durchführung des eigentlichen Pentests aus Sicht des Auftraggebers weiterhin eine Blackbox ist:

In einem Ergebnisbericht wird lediglich dokumentiert, welche Schwachstellen im Rahmen des Pentests identifiziert wurden. Der Bericht enthält keine Information darüber, ob und in welchem Umfang eine Funktion getestet wurde. Unser Prüfbericht schafft mehr Transparenz: Er ist ein zusätzliches Dokument, das den Umfang sowie das Ergebnis der Durchführung zusammenfasst. Wir zeigen dort, welche Angriffsvektoren im Zusammenhang mit welchen Funktionen getestet wurden und mit welchem Ergebnis – auch wenn dort keine Schwachstelle identifiziert wurde. Somit erhalten Sie Klarheit und können die Qualität unserer Analyse bewerten.

Nachvollziehbare Pentest-Ergebnisse

Die beste Sicherheitsanalyse bringt keinen Mehrwert, wenn die Erkenntnisse nicht nachvollziehbar und übersichtlich dargestellt sowie mit konkreten Handlungsempfehlungen versehen werden. Aus diesem Grund haben wir unsere Pentest-Ergebnisberichte grundlegend überarbeitet und um viele nützliche Informationen ergänzt. Durch die Kategorisierung von Findings können beispielsweise grundlegende Probleme erkannt werden. Zum Beispiel: Viele Findings im Bereich „Umgang mit Benutzerdaten“ innerhalb einer Webanwendung deuten auf fehlende Awareness der Entwickler*innen für Injection-Angriffe hin. Insgesamt haben wir die Struktur und Darstellung der Ergebnisse in unserem Bericht überarbeitet und interne Referenzen ergänzt – alles für eine bessere Lesbarkeit.

Reporting angepasst an Ihre Bedürfnisse

Die Ergebnisse der technischen Analyse führen zu umfangreichen Folgemaßnahmen bei Ihnen:

  • Die Ergebnisse müssen unternehmensintern weiterverarbeitet werden
  • Aufgabenpakete müssen den richtigen Ansprechpartner*innen zugewiesen werden
  • Maßnahmen zur Behebung müssen installiert, nachverfolgt und dokumentiert werden

Viele Unternehmen nutzen dafür eigene Systeme, zum Beispiel auf Basis von Jira. Dafür können wir unkompliziert eine tabellarische Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse in einem passenden Format für den Import zur Verfügung stellen. Auf Wunsch können wir auch unternehmenseigene Vorlagen für die Dokumentation von Pentest-Ergebnissen verwenden.


Sie interessieren sich für einen Pentest oder benötigen Unterstützung?

Kontaktieren Sie uns oder starten Sie direkt in Ihre Pentest-Planung.

Auch interessant:

usd AG Partner des PCI SSC GEAR 2022-2024

usd AG Partner des PCI SSC GEAR 2022-2024

Der PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) hat die usd AG erneut zur Mitgliedschaft im Global Executive Assessor Roundtable (GEAR) berufen. Seit 2018 ermöglicht der GEAR einen direkten Austausch zwischen PCI Assessoren und dem PCI Security Standards...

mehr lesen
Security Advisories zu CA Harvest

Security Advisories zu CA Harvest

Die Analyst*innen des usd HeroLabs haben während der Durchführung ihrer Sicherheitsanalysen die CA Harvest Software Change Manager untersucht. Hierbei wurde eine unzureichende Eingabevalidierung beim CSV Export identifiziert, welche dem Hersteller im Rahmen...

mehr lesen

Kategorien

Kategorien