PCI DSS v4.0 – The Most Important Changes at a Glance: Keyed Cryptographic Hashes

30. January 2024

Last updated: 30 January, 2024

On March 31, 2022, the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) released version 4.0 of the PCI DSS - the most comprehensive update to the standard since version 1.0. To help you ease the transition, in our series of posts we take a closer look at the key new features that PCI DSS v.4.0 brings. In the fifth part, we look at the new requirement for keyed cryptographic hashes.

The PCI DSS prohibits the storage of PANs (Primary Account Numbers) in plain text, so that these sensitive credit card data cannot be read and misused by criminals even after a successful attack. Previous versions of PCI DSS recommended the use of salted hashes, as well as slow hash methods to protect PANs. The latest version 4.0 now requires hashes to be protected with a key.

Hashing Algorithms in Previous PCI DSS Versions

The previous versions of PCI DSS recommended the use of slow hashes and salted hashes to protect PAN.

The previous versions of the PCI DSS recommended the use of a string of random data - a salt - as additional input for a hash function to protect PAN. The goal of salting is to protect against dictionary attacks or attacks using a rainbow table, a data structure that allows a fast, memory-efficient search for the original string for a given hash value. However, if no secret salt is used, or if the salt has not been sufficiently protected, the corresponding data, for example the PAN, can be read from the attacker's previously calculated dictionaries or rainbow tables.

Slow hashes are designed to be inefficient and difficult to compute. A hash method used to secure data should be slow to better protect data against brute force attacks. The disadvantage of slow hash algorithms is their high computational memory intensityUse of slow hash procedures and salted hashes.

New PCS DSS Requirement: Keyed Cryptographic Hashes

The new requirement 3.5.1.1 in PCI DSS v4.0 calls for the use of hash algorithms that include a key. This is intended to prevent hashes from being back-calculated and PANs from being read by attackers.

Requirement 3.5.1.1

The requirement is "future-dated", i.e. not mandatory to implement until April 1, 2025.

3.5.1.1 Hashes used to render PAN unreadable (per the first bullet of Requirement 3.5.1) are keyed cryptographic hashes of the entire PAN, with associated key-management processes and procedures in accordance with Requirements 3.6 and 3.7.

Quelle: PCI DSS: https://docs-prv.pcisecuritystandards.org/PCI%20DSS/Standard/PCI-DSS-v4_0.pdf

Which Hashes Does the Standard Recommend?

Suitable encrypted cryptographic hash algorithms named by PCI DSS v4.0 include: HMAC and KMAC with an effective cryptographic strength of at least 112 bits or CMAC and GMAC with 128 bits (NIST SP 800-131Ar2).

The PCI DSS references the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) standard NIST SP 800-107 for further information and recommendations for hash algorithms.

How Keys Must Be Protected

To protect the keys used from disclosure and misuse, the management processes from requirements 3.6 and 3.7 must be applied to them.

These include the following measures:

  • Access to the keys is restricted as far as possible
  • The keys are stored in a secured system (e.g. HSM), or encrypted with a key with at least the same cryptographic strength, which is stored separately
  • The keys are part of an inventory which describes the algorithm used, key runtime, as well as the utilization

Requirement 3.7 also requires the definition of processes for the creation and subsequent secure distribution of strong keys.

Also interesting:

DORA Deep Dive: Threat-Led Penetration Testing (TLPT)

DORA Deep Dive: Threat-Led Penetration Testing (TLPT)

The Digital Operational Resilience Act (DORA) will apply as of January 17, 2025. In addition to routine operational resilience testing, DORA will also make it mandatory for certain financial companies to carry out threat-led penetration testing (TLPT) every three...

Security Advisory on Gambio

Security Advisory on Gambio

The pentest professionals at usd HeroLab examined the online shop software Gambio during their pentests. The software offers merchants various functions that support the management of inventory and orders. Our professionals discovered a vulnerability in the password...

Categories

Categories

PCI DSS v4.0 – Die wichtigsten Neuerungen im Überblick: Keyed Cryptographic Hashes

30. Januar 2024

Letztes Update: 30.01.2024

Am 31.03.2022 veröffentlichte das Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSCVersion 4.0 des PCI DSS – das umfangreichste Update des Standards seit Version 1.0. Um Ihnen den Übergang zu vereinfachen, werfen wir in unserer Postreihe einen genaueren Blick auf die wichtigsten Neuerungen, die PCI DSS v4.0 mit sich bringt. Im fünften Teil betrachten wir die neue Anforderung zu keyed cryptographic hashes.

Der PCI DSS verbietet die Speicherung von PAN (Primary Account Numbers) im Klartext, sodass diese sensiblen Kreditkartendaten auch nach einem erfolgreichen Angriff nicht durch Kriminelle ausgelesen und missbraucht werden können. In bisherigen Versionen des PCI DSS wurde die Verwendung von salted Hashes, sowie langsamer Hash-Verfahren zum Schutz von PANs empfohlen. Die neuste Version 4.0 fordert nun, dass Hashes mit einem Key geschützt werden müssen.

Bisherige Hashing-Algorithmen

Die bisherigen Versionen des PCI DSS empfohlen zum Schutz von PAN die Verwendung langsamer Hash-Verfahren sowie von salted Hashes.

Beim sogenannten Salting werden Zufallsdaten - ein Salt - als zusätzliche Eingabe für eine Hash-Funktion verwendet. Ziel des Salting ist die Abwehr von Wörterbuchangriffen oder Angriffen mithilfe einer Rainbow Table, einer Datenstruktur, die eine schnelle, speichereffiziente Suche nach der ursprünglichen Zeichenfolge für einen gegebenen Hashwert ermöglicht. Wird kein geheimer Salt verwendet, oder wurde der Salt nicht ausreichend geschützt, können die entsprechenden Daten, beispielsweise die PAN, jedoch in den zuvor berechneten Wörterbüchern oder Rainbow Tables des Angreifers ausgelesen werden.

Langsame Hashes sind so konzipiert, dass sie ineffizient und schwierig zu berechnen sind. Ein Hash-Verfahren, welches zur Sicherung von Daten genutzt wird, sollte langsam sein, um Daten gegen Brute Force-Angriffe besser zu schützen. Der Nachteil an langsamen Hash-Algorithmen liegt in ihrer hohen Rechenspeicherintensität.

Neue PCS DSS-Anforderung: Keyed Cryptographic Hashes

Die neue Anforderung 3.5.1.1 im PCI DSS v4.0 fordert die Verwendung von Hash-Algorithmen, bei denen ein Schlüssel mit einfließt. So soll verhindert werden, dass Hashes zurückgerechnet und PANs durch Angreifer ausgelesen werden können.

Anforderung 3.5.1.1

Die Anforderung ist „future-dated“, also erst ab dem 1. April 2025 verpflichtend umzusetzen.

3.5.1.1 Hashes used to render PAN unreadable (per the first bullet of Requirement 3.5.1) are keyed cryptographic hashes of the entire PAN, with associated key-management processes and procedures in accordance with Requirements 3.6 and 3.7.

Quelle: PCI DSS: https://docs-prv.pcisecuritystandards.org/PCI%20DSS/Standard/PCI-DSS-v4_0.pdf

Welche Hashes sollen verwendet werden?

Als geeignete verschlüsselte kryptografische Hash-Algorithmen benennt der PCI DSS v4.0 unter anderem: HMAC und KMAC mit einer effektiven kryptographischen Stärke von mindestens 112 Bit oder CMAC und GMAC mit 128 Bit (NIST SP 800-131Ar2).

Der PCI DSS verweist auf den Standard NIST SP 800-107 des National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) für weitere Informationen und Empfehlungen für Hash-Algorithmen.

Wie müssen Keys geschützt werden?

Um die verwendeten Keys vor Offenlegung und Missbrauch zu schützen, müssen die Managementprozesse aus den Anforderungen 3.6 und 3.7 auf sie angewendet werden.

Diese umfassen beispielsweise folgende Maßnahmen:

  • Der Zugang zu den Schlüsseln ist so weit wie möglich beschränkt
  • Die Schlüssel werden in einem abgesicherten System (z.B. HSM) gespeichert, oder mit einem Schlüssel mit mindestens derselben kryptografischen Stärke verschlüsselt, der separat gespeichert wird
  • Die Schlüssel sind Teil eines Inventars, welches den verwendeten Algorithmus, Schlüssellaufzeit, sowie die Verwendung beschreibt

Anforderung 3.7 fordert außerdem die Definition von Prozessen zur Erstellung und anschließenden sicheren Verteilung von starken Schlüsseln.

Auch interessant:

PCI DSS v4.0.1 veröffentlicht

PCI DSS v4.0.1 veröffentlicht

Als Reaktion auf Rückmeldungen und Fragen von Stakeholdern, die seit der Veröffentlichung von PCI DSS v4.0 im März 2022 bei ihm eingegangen sind, veröffentlichte das PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) am 11.06.2024 ein Update des PCI DSS: Version 4.0.1. In...

mehr lesen

Kategorien

Kategorien